A whisper of time

“Our days are numbered. We only have a whisper of time to breathe and laugh and kiss and wrestle with our kids and tell the world what we really think.”

This beautiful quote comes from the founder of Think Digital, Justin Wise. And if his name doesn’t inspire confidence that he knows what he’s talking about, I don’t know what will.

After five 500 words essays I completed for my first assignment since arriving at university, I feel drained. All that academic writing stays clear of any emotional language. It’s so detached. And usually that works for me. Usually I am reluctant to share my feelings. Usually I am happy with talking about a subject without getting invested. But today is not at all usual.

I don’t intend for this post to be a depressing one, but to understand where I am coming from you must know what happened in my hometown this week. I will spare the gruesome details, but 29 people died and over 100 were injured in a nightclub fire. I knew none of them, but that doesn’t stop it from affecting me as well, at least indirectly.

Can you imagine sitting at home on a Friday night and getting a phone call, or turning on the news and finding out that you lost someone close to you? I can’t.

I read the statement of a nurse who was on the scene and I kept thinking about my friends who are studying to become nurses. And I pray they will never have to go through something like this. I can’t imagine how strong you must be to overcome such a thing.

I talked to another friend. He was a regular at that club, but he didn’t like the band playing that night. Talk about lifesaving taste in music.

Who would have thought that some fireworks on a celebratory cake could set off a fire of that amplitude? Bad things happen and sometimes you can’t avoid it because there is nothing you can do. I’m not encouraging you to never leave the house out of fear that the universe is plotting against you.

My point is life is just an unpredictable series of events. Most of the time we have no control. Our days are indeed numbered. But that doesn’t mean we have to keep count. We just have to learn how to make them count.

So how about today you tell someone you love them. Hit someone up who you’ve lost touch with. Hug anyone you can. Laugh and kiss and enjoy life.Share your food. Do things you enjoy. But most importantly, tell the world what you really think while they can still hear it. Say it even if you’re afraid you’re gonna sound silly.

11012460_716455411823631_4279833451001837306_n

Apologize to people you’ve hurt in the past. Forgive those who hurt you, wherever they did it on purpose or not. Life is too short to hold a grudge. I’m still a work in progress in this chapter but I think we all need to know how to let go of the things poisoning our lives and embrace the fact that we are all human. And we are all fragile even if we hate to admit it.

Turn down your ear to the whisper of time and turn your eyes to what really matters.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. AS1804 says:

    Deep. If you need to talk about it lovely.. Everyone’s family 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anasdomain says:

      Aww thanks babe ❤

      Like

  2. alinamacoveanu says:

    Great quote. Inspiring blog post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. anasdomain says:

      Thank you ❤ . I love to inspire people.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

